Why did I get this alert?

We haven't seen any tracked usage from this device by any user in the last 24 hours.

So, if this device has been online in that time, then it looks like filtering has been disabled.

 

What do I need to do?

Simply use the device on any Mobile Zone or Home Zone network. By doing this we’ll detect the traffic and remove this red alert.

Open the following webpage, http://home.tools on that device.  This Family Zone webpage will confirm the device is being protected.

 

Troubleshooting

 

When visiting home.tools, I get the message “You probably shouldn’t be here.”

This means you are not connected to our filtered network.

 

If you are using a device with the Mobile Zone app installed, follow these steps:

  • Check that the device is connected to the VPN

  • Turn on Flight Mode and then turn it off. Then browse the internet, trying home.tools once more.

  • Open the Mobile Zone app. Ensure the correct user in your zone is identified. If not, try cancelling Mobile Zone (through your Account - navigate to My Family > Devices > select the affected device and cancel the Mobile Zone app service) and re-activating the app once more.

If you are using a device with Mobile Zone for Laptops installed, follow these steps:

  • Switch the device on and ensure that it is connected to a network

  • Open Mobile Zone for Laptops program and ensure it isn’t displaying an error

  • Click on the Request a Change button and ensure that Family Zone loads

  • Reboot the device and follow steps 1-3 again.

 

If you are using a device connected to a Home Zone Box follow these steps:

  • Check the device is connected to the Family or Guest WiFi networks.

  • Then browse the internet, trying home.tools once more.

  • Power cycle the Home Zone Box (ie turn off/on).

  • Power cycle the other elements in your network (router, modem).

 

If you are still experiencing any issues please contact our customer support team

https://help.familyzone.com/support/tickets/new

 

We are away and not using this device. Can I stop these notifications?

Yes, you can. Login Online and open the To do section, then select Device not seen in 24 hours.  On the right-hand menu, select the length of time you'd like this notification to be muted.

After a To do has been muted, a new settings menu will appear to give you the option of making further changes.

Muting a To do will also prevent emails and Zone Manager notification from being sent.

 

Why am I not getting this alert for other members of my zone or their devices?

This could mean that the user or their devices are not yet registered in our platform.

Or it may mean the user is set to “not tracked” in their settings menu (this is the default setting for adults).